YPAF Sneak Peek – Jimmy Vo

YPAF is a collection of voices from different ages, places and industries to share advice on starting a career and conquering your twenties.This week Rebecca Fraser-Thill from Working Self shared her talked . On Monday, August 23rd we will hear from Jimmy Vo, a systems analyst nearing the end of his twenties Here is a sneak peek…

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________

During my undergraduate “college career” I took the slow and steady approach in getting my bachelor’s degree. Throughout my undergraduate studies, I transferred twice which attributed to my prolonged college career. After nearly 5 and half years, I was able to put college behind me at nearly age 24. Upon graduation, I was lucky enough to land a full-time job as a systems analyst but I realized I could be further in my career in my mid-twenties. So what would I have done differently?

Part-Time Student

When I moved back home, my second college was a community college. I decided I wanted to live with my friends to start my 20s. Given that I had to pay rent I had to work two-part jobs selling jeans and baking bagels. I didn’t have time to commit to taking a full course load. Stupid. It was quite a setback.

I should have stayed home with Mom (she enjoyed having me around), went to school full-time and saved money.

For the full article and the rest of what Jimmy Vo, tune in Monday morning at 9am for the full post. 

Tell AsktheYoPro what you think