Public Display of Affection Insurance

The following post is a guest post from XO, Bettie, a finance advice blog from Tumblr. Bettie shares her story of how she learned the importance of renter’s insurance.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________

My man thought it would be romantic to throw rocks at my window (à la The Rolling Stones) to announce his arrival.

Click! Click! THUD! My computer monitor was scarred from this public display of affection.

Now I don’t think my renter’s insurance payments were a waste of money…because even though I don’t own my apartment, I own my things in it!

My landlord has insurance for the building (and my broken window). My renter’s insurance insures my possessions within my apartment. Plus, if anyone injures herself within my apartment and she sues me, the insurance company will handle the claim (and pay up to the limit of my policy, less any deductible)! Handy with my monthly wii tennis tournaments. Ace!

Renter’s insurance gives me financial assurance, regardless of what happens to my expensive-to-replace set up in my apartment.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Bettie’s Bio:

My friends and I jabber about the ins & outs of all sorts of taboo things…but never money. Society assumes that every working girl knows how to properly allocate her paycheck or has Daddy-Dearest subsidize it.

But not anymore! Join my fabulous & frugal journey to become financially literate.

Tumblr

Twitter

Newsletter

Tell AsktheYoPro what you think