Sneak Peek: YPAF from Chris J. Gaddis

 YPAF is a collection of voices from different ages, places and industries to share advice on starting a career and conquering your twenties. This week  Jimmy Vo, a systems analyst nearing the end of his twenties shared what he would have done differently. On Monday, September 30th we will hear from Chris J. Gaddis from ChrisJGaddis.com and author of Athena’s GiftHere is a sneak peek…

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I was contacted by Katie to write a guest post for this blog. As I was thinking about the opportunity and what to write about, I thought back to the whole reason I am now doing, what I am doing. I will spare you the long story and just give you what you need to know.

My wife and I graduated from Keuka College, a beautiful college on Keuka Lake. Graduation weekend is always held on Memorial Day and my family and my wife’s family decided to rent a house on the lake for the weekend. Ever since then every Memorial Day weekend we rented a house on the lake together.

In 2009 we again rented a house on the lake. Through a long series of events, that I feel were truly meant to be, our dog Athena ended up getting hit by a car and died that weekend. Looking back it seems as if my whole life was being pushed to this one moment in my life. The events and occurrences of my life up to that time seem to fit together like a puzzle; the different pieces coming together at that exact moment.

Needless to say it was a pretty sudden and unexpected death that affected my wife and me greatly. I could not shake the feeling it was “meant to be” and immediately tried to decipher why that was. What I learned, summed up in one sentence, is life is too short to do things you don’t want to do.

For the full article and 6 steps to  jump start your action plan from Chris, tune in Monday morning at 9am for the full post. 

Tell AsktheYoPro what you think

