3 Signs It’s Time For A New Job

If you’re exhibiting any of these symptoms, it’s time for a new job.

1. You can do the job with your hands tied behind your back, eyes closed, while twirling in circles.

If your job isn’t challenging you, you’ve learned all that you needed to. It’s great that you’ve masters your job, but you can be using your mastered skills somewhere else – and learning more new skills.

2. You’ve realized there’s no room to move up? Time to move on.

You don’t want to be stuck in one position forever. If there’s no room to advance at your company get the experience you need then move to a new company with opportunities.

3. You can’t remember when you stop counting hours and started counting the seconds to the end of the day and the milliseconds to the weekend.

Everyone has the right to enjoy their job. If you really hate your job find something you love. It will be worth the effort to find your passion.

These are short and sweet little red flags to move on, but that’s all it takes. One little red flag that you could easily ignore because its easier to just stay safe where you are. But staying where you are really isn’t safe, it holds you back. Staying for too long may prevent you from advancing later in your career. Look for the red flags, create a plan to move on and then notify your company.

Here’s what other people suggest:

101 Secrets For Your Twenties – “#69 If your office is permeated with a culture of complacency, especially from the top down – game over. Pack your bags. Time to leave.”

NY Daily News – 10 Signs Its Time To Find A New Job

US News – 16 Signs It’s Time to Quit Your Job

Follow on Bloglovin

8 thoughts on “3 Signs It’s Time For A New Job

  1. These are 3 of the many reasons I’m leaving my job before the end of the year, and I really do count down the seconds! Though in this situation I think it’s so important to take the time to make sure your next job is a step in the right direction and not just a quick escape from your current one.

    • Well I have to say, congrats on following through to move on to a new job. Are you waiting until the end of the year so that you can ensure you find the right next move for you? I would love to hear some feedback on what to do after you decide it’s time for a new job and I’m sure the Yo Pro readers will too!

      • Thanks Katie – I’m excited about a fresh start! And yes, waiting to make sure the next move’s right. As much as I now hate my current job, it is giving me the time, space and income to work out my next step.

        I think it really does vary based on individual situation but, in my case, having realised I’m heading in completely the wrong direction, I guess so far my advice would be:
        1. Set a realistic time frame for leaving
        2. Get help in working out your next move
        3. Go back to the basics and big picture

        This is a huge topic and I’m sure is something I’ll blog about properly in future!

        • That’s great! Thank you so much for sharing your advice. I would love to work with you to create a follow up post on advice on how to move on. Email me at asktheyoungprofessional (at) gmail (dot) com if you’re interested!

  2. Yeah I definitely agree with these three! I was at #1 for a while but continued to develop some of my visual basic skills (which you could spend a decade on and never master) and recently started to learn Microsoft Access and JUST started to dabble in SQL. The extra time from automating/mastering my regular duties allowed me to invest in these skill sets, and just over the past week I found out I am being brought on a new project that will let me work in Oracle with a ton of data and write queries from scratch – which are skills I wanted to add to my resume for a while now! Sometimes your job can change in a way that allows you to stay in your current job. If things aren’t changing and you aren’t able to initiate change, it might be time to move on.

  3. Pingback: When it’s time to leave « sweetlyindecisive

Tell AsktheYoPro what you think

