Sneak Peek: YPAF from Jeff Vrabel

YPAF is a collection of voices from different ages, places and industries to share advice on starting off and being twenty. This week Kayla from Gen Y Girl talked about being a twentysomething with too many options. On Monday, August 5th we will hear from Jeff Vrabel from jeffvrabel.comHere is a sneak peak…

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Awful nice of Katie to ask me for a guest post on this blog, despite the obvious discrepancy that this a blog about young professionals and I’m a quote-fingers humor and features writer who hasn’t qualified as young in a good, good long while. (My son’s answer when asked how many gray hairs I have: “Thousands,” he replied thoughtfully. “Possibly more.”)

Moreover, most my twenties were spent in a field that doesn’t really exist anymore: what history textbooks will one day refer to as “newspapers.” Fresh out of school and toting both a journalism and English degree, because I decided at a very early age that I never wanted to make any money at anything ever, I fell into a series of copy editing and page-design jobs at fine papers for people I liked very much. It was fun, because newspaper tended (and still tend) to draw a particular brand of sarcastic, slightly off-kilter personality type that I like very much. They just don’t draw, how do you say, advertisers anymore, and that’s why I spent my twenties doing something that, it became clear in my early thirties, I needed to bail out of with extreme haste.

For the full article and great advice from Jeff Vrabel, tune in Monday morning at 9am for the full post. 

Tell AsktheYoPro what you think

