Be An Expert In Something

I remember going to a management class where the business professor always said to us, “Be an expert in something.” He would encourage us to find one subject matter or even one individual thing to be an expert on. If you could be an expert on it then you could make a career out of it. Of course he would list of inspiring examples which of course now I forget because its been a couple of years. I’ve heard of these stories but I had yet to see it in action.

The other day I realized that someone I work with is a living example of “being an expert.”Β This person doesn’t know I’m talking about him so I’ll call him K.

K basically created a job for himself in the digital department. I don’t know the whole story because I started after him, but what I do know is that he became a YouTube expert. He grew his knowledge and how it would help the company. After heading the YouTube push Sesame Workshop is now the first nonprofit organization to reach 1 billion views on YouTube.

K has accepted a job offer in LA and will be making the transition this summer.

This is my first real life encounter when someone who became an expert in something. Who know that something could be as simple as YouTube?

I thought this was an inspiring story for our generation because there are so many avenues in this young digital world. I met someone recently who works in digital advertising. She was telling me how her whole company is people of our generation.

Digital world or not, I think my business professor’s advice about being an expert in something is valuable advice.

What do you think the benefits of being an expert are?

2 thoughts on “Be An Expert In Something

  1. I always debate this topic in my mind: be an expert or be a “renaissance man”. I think the answer is that you need both. You need to have a myriad of skills, but being an expert in at least one thing is essential if you want to make a name for yourself.

    • I agree that it definitely wise to diversify your skills… I’ve promoted that idea before. If you can master being an expert at something but still be able to offer your services in other areas or at least comprehend them, then that makes you a valuable asset to any team.

Tell AsktheYoPro what you think

