Saving Money with a Piggy Bank

Piggy Bank

Piggy Bank (Photo credit: 401(K) 2013)

Think you’re too old for a piggy bank? Well, I don’t.

At my high school senior dinner the center pieces were piggy banks that read “College Fund” on their sides. I still have mine. I keep all my change in there. Then one random day I bust that baby open and count up my earnings like I was 6 years old all over again.

I know banks have a “keep the change” option for your accounts, and I guess that’s an adult’s version of the piggy bank, but I still like mine. I like that I control when I want to take out the money and what I want to spend it on. With the change kept in my bank account I barely even notice it’s there before it gets spent on my next quick swipe of plastic freedom.

No matter how you do it the point is that change adds up.

One day I sat with the 4 year old boy I babysit to count the money in his piggy bank… the kid had more than $65! And he’s only 4! (And his piggy bank was an awesome Buzz Lightyear.) If he can do it, so can we.

Tell AsktheYoPro what you think

