Liebster Award

liebsteraward_3lilapples

Emma, Experience Required blog, nominated me for the Liebster Award. Emma is one of my favorite bloggers so naturally, I am ecstatic she chose to recognize me in this way. Emma writes about her experiences in her life as a young professional. I especially love her clever blog title, Experience Required, referring to the struggles of when you first try to get into the working world and it seems like every entry level jobs requires 2 years of experience.

To accept the award you need to answer 11 questions and, in turn, nominate 11 of your blogging peers.

My 11 Questions:

1.What qualities matter most to you in a job?

This question makes me want to answer as if I was an employer… If I were an employer, what one quality must that new hirer have? The one word that comes to mind is dedication. If you have dedication then you are loyal, you have the drive to succeed, you want to follow through, you have many qualities wrapped up that gives you dedication.

2. What is your dream job?

I’ve honestly tried to answer this question again and again, but I can’t truly answer it. I know that I like the entertainment business, I graduated with a degree in film and video, I like managing, I like working with a team, I like not being behind a desk every single day doing the same thing… I’ve tried to satisfy these likes with various positions in the field of entertainment, but I cannot decide on one specific role. For now I can say that I would like to stay on my path in the television industry, see if I can be a producer or stage manager, and I would like to also get involved with event planning and the concert business again.

3. Who are your role models?

This is going to sound silly because they are very opposite people, but Fr. Dick (priest from my high school) and Beyonce. Fr. Dick because he is a living saint. I do not know a kinder more wise loving individual. He inspires me to not only stay true to God but be a better person than I am, to give back to others, and always make people smile. Beyonce because I am empowered by strong women. I know Beyonce isn’t the only one out there, Carie Underwood, Kelly Clarkson are two more that come to mind, but Beyonce has always stuck out to me. I think it’s because I’ve seen a back stage documentary on her where I was able to see how passionate she was and her drive to strive for nothing but the best. I think all women in this world need a powerful women to look towards for a true positive role model who can help women not be afraid to stand up for herself.

4. What inspires you?

Nature and talent. There’s nothing more beautiful than something that is naturally created. I love to look around this world and see its natural beauty. The natural beauty calls to me to strive to do something more while I’m in this world. Likewise, when I witness someone who is truly talented I am inspired to be on that level of mastery.

5. What is your favorite quote?

Don’t worry, be happy.

6. If you could travel ten years back in time, what advice would you give yourself?

Ten years back I’d be 13 going on 14 at the end of sixth grade. I think I would advise myself to listen to my gut so I could gain confidence and guide myself by not other’s words but by my own inner voice.

7. What special or unusual skills do you have?

I can wiggle my ears and roll my tongue like a clover!

8. What is your greatest achievement?

My greatest achievement I have to say was when I was Concert Head at my college. I would say getting my first real job as a Production Assistant for Sesame Workshop, but that journey is not finished yet so that’s why I think Concert Head sticks out to me more. As Concert Head I was in charge of the entire performance, which we as a committee decided to extend it to two days. It was a very empowering position where I think I was able to grow a lot as a leader. Even though there were ups and downs along the way, seeing everything come together at our two nights of performances really made it pay off.

9. What is the most unexpected fact you’ve learned from your job search?

You really don’t know who is going to be the one to help you the most. I talked to a lot of people and heard a lot of stories. I talked to most people just because I like to talk and be friendly. I think that’s why when I found out I was going to have a job it came out of no where and from someone that I didn’t even know had the power to do that!

10. What are your best qualities?

My best quality is my happiness. I have this internal happiness that no matter how miserable and how much suffering I might be enduring  I still laugh. I think that’s a quality that has been given to me for a reason. I have the ability to spread happiness to those who most need it and at the most unpredictable moments. I’m thankful for that.

11. Who would you want to play you in a movie about your life?

Oh! I officially decided this this year… Kate Hudson. Forever it was between Katie Hudson and Reese Witherspoon because obviously they’re both blonde and they are fun inspiring women, or at least I think so. I finally one day decided on Kate Hudson because I think she has this spunk that matches my personality as well.

These are the 11 Blogs I’m nominating.

They are some of the blogs that helped me when I first started blogging. I think they’re a great addition to  any blog community and I encourage you to look through them.

  1. 31 Days of Awesome
  2. Ambition In The City
  3. Blogging for a Good Book
  4. GenY Girl
  5. Light Up Ideas
  6. Love and a Six-Foot Leash
  7. Sarah Over the Moon
  8. The IRA Diva
  9. The Younger Professional
  10. Veranda Lane Success Blog
  11. Stuff Grads Like

 

Related Articles:

9 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. Pingback: Very Inspiring Blogger Award | Ask The Young Professional

Tell AsktheYoPro what you think

