Goals for Life from One Weekend

For the past week or so I’ve really been on this kick of carpe diem. I’ve been running into the typical bumps in the road that life sends along, so I wanted to find myself a solution by looking at what needed improvement. I sat down with myself and my thoughts (meaning I was riding on the subway rushing from one place to the next) and I narrowed down what was making me unhappy and why. I’m not saying I was completely unhappy or depressed, I could just tell that something was off.  What I realized was that I had lost sight of what was really important to me. I work hard and my work is important to me but there’s more to life than that for me. I’m an experience person. I like being spontaneous, enjoying life’s special treasures and being around loved ones.

I had created a bucket list about 6 months ago to help me write down places I want to see, things I want to do and what I want to accomplish with my life.  When I looked at it again recently I only had one item crossed off! It was clear to me that I had to make some changes with my current lifestyle. First I worked on my bucket list. I made sure I had specific tangible goals that were also realistic. I then I took out 25 that I thought I could complete by the time I was 25 (June 2014). The rest I will save when I make my 30 by 30 and 35 by 35 lists.

One day I stumbled upon Veranda Lane: Life and Leadership Coaching. There was a post called 5 Resolutions for Young Professionals Seeking Success in 2013. This automatically caught my eye because she was talking about me! …Or at least I fit into the category of people she was calling out to. This past weekend I used her goal planner to help me set some resolutions for the year.

I was really impressed with myself. Out of one weekend I gained a list of dreams I will complete in the next year and a half, and a whole new set of goals for the year! I can already tell that I’ve got my life back on the track I want to be on. I really encourage you to spend some time with yourself to do the same.

What are your life dreams? Do you have a bucket list? 

6 thoughts on “Goals for Life from One Weekend

  1. Heyyy Katie, I’m glad the planner helped you get your goals going! Thanks for sharing. My life dream is to help other’s fulfill theirs! So, definitely let me know if there’s anything I can do to help. Sometimes we all just need a good cheerleader!

  2. Pingback: Organizing and Prioritizing | Ask The Young Professional

  3. Pingback: Budgeting 101 – Class 3 | Ask The Young Professional

  4. Pingback: Creating Good Habits | Ask The Young Professional

  5. Pingback: The Importance of Family | Ask The Young Professional

Tell AsktheYoPro what you think

