Keep Track of Your Work

One of the most important things you can do is keep a work sample of all the projects you’ve done. After I complete a section of projects I e-mail them to myself. This is good for two reasons….

1) You will have work examples to use in portfolios or on your website.

2) You’ll have an ongoing record of what projects you’ve done, when and where.

In school I even kept track of what activities I joined, what awards I was given, and anything else I could see myself potentially using on a resume or talking about in an interview. I have some of my work samples on my professional journal website and I try to update it as much as possible.

Having some sort of system really helps when you least expect it. Its a great reference to use down the line with you want to update your resume and other professional representations.

Tell AsktheYoPro what you think

